OT:  Guitar setup

Any gurus out there?

OK, let me start by saying that I don’t come to this as a complete novice. In the last 30 years or so I have successfully setup countless numbers of my own, and friend’s, guitars and basses. I’m no stranger to truss rods, allen keys, intonation and fret buzz… But now I have a problem…

Anyway, my son and I have just built one of those entry level Telecaster type kit guitars. Basically you get a box of bits and have to assemble it. Done that, fine. Trouble is the neck has absolutely no relief in it and I’ve got some fret buzz (even with the action quite high). OK, easy, slacken the truss rod a quarter turn and wait… ok another 1/4 turn… ok a whole turn… ok two whole turns. Now about two weeks later I must’ve turned the thing a good 4 or five complete turns and STILL NO RELIEF in the neck.

So, have I got a duff one? Is there a trick I’m missing? Is this common with new necks? Should I keep turning? ? ? ?

Comments welcomed…

Hey Mark,

Bad news…sounds like you’ve got a stripped truss rod. If you’re turning the truss rod and seeing no reaction from the neck it probably means the rod is stripped. If you keep turning it you run the risk of doing serious damage to the fretboard (like maybe popping the whole off or busting a whole in it.) On the other hand, the thing may just be stripped and setting there and spinning, which no amount of turning will affect. Either way, if you’ve turned numerous “whole turns” there’s definatley something wrong.
I’m certainly no luthier, but I’ve done my fair share of set ups. A quarter to a half turn is usually as far as you need to go.
Good luck with this one…

gunner

Eyup!

gunner is probably correct, but another possibility is that the frets are not levelled. Just one high fret can make getting rid of buzz impossible.
Take a straight edge (metal ruler) and lay it edge-wise on the frets, you’ll need something long enough to span at least 3 frets at a time. If it rocks you have a high fret.