Pan and other controls

Good real-world UI, bad software UI

Hi all,

I’m a newbie to n-Track.
I run live sound for a few places, and have done some multitrack recording using my Behringer DDX3216 desk and an RME 9652 ADAT interface.
Not having the cash for Cubase or other big-name packages, I initially tried Mixcraft, but I quickly found that although that was very user-friendly, it just didn’t have enough features.
And Reaper looked like it’d be nice when it was done, but that point was too far in the future.
So that narrowed things down to n-Track.
I had a go with it, and it seems like a great tool.

But there are some things with the UI which are unnecessarily bad.
And I’m not talking about how it’s laid out or anything like that - I’m simply talking about the basics of how widgets work.

Let’s look at panning.
Sure, I can use MIDI controls to change the pan accurately from outside the box, and I can zoom in with the pan control to do cross-panning.
But suppose I just want to put an instrument somewhere and leave it there - what does the mixer give me?
Answer - a fader that’s about 10 pixels wide.
But suppose I resize the fader window - does this get bigger?
Answer - no, you lose.
Accurate panning?
No way, dude.

Now let’s look at the built-in effects.
What is the main control method for all these?
Answer - rotary knobs.
Now in the real world, a rotary knob is a superb user interface, because our hands and wrists are designed to rotate smoothly and accurately.
For a software UI though, there is nothing worse.
And I mean literally nothing worse - there is no control method more inaccurate and more painful to use than trying to move a software rotary knob with a mouse. The only way it could be made worse would be if the window moved randomly around the screen while you were trying to click on it!

My point is that although the UI might not be intuitive, this doesn’t really matter too much if it lets you do what you need.