panning on drums

what’s your prefference?

So I was just listening to a couple songs of a group that I’m in and noticed the “sound guy” (not me in this case, hard to play at the same time and i have little experience it’s probably a good thing :p) had the panning different on different songs, which I like since these are demos and it means trying out different stuff to see what we like.

Anyhow, as a drummer I prefer hearing the set in the speakers the way I play it (highat pretty hard left, snare towards the left, low tom right along with the ride cymbal etc). However if you are observing the band that is backwards (well unless you are behind me for some strange reason). If I was watching a music video I definitely would prefer it from the stage perspective so the sound field matches what I see.

It seems to vary a lot from album to album in my music collection (pearl jam vs. seems to be drummers position, while sound garden superunknown seem to be stage perspective, well most of it, it varies).

What’s your guys/gals opinion?

Interesting one this. I’ve thought a lot about this over the years.

I don’t think the choice of which way round the kit is matters too much - I don’t think the average listener notices the difference, and anyway, what about Phil Collins and other lefties?

However, I think it does pay to be consistent across a whole album, (but then again that’s a producer’s choice). On the last major project I did, I mixed all the drums from the audience’s perspective (hat to the right, floor tom to the left - assuming a right-handed drummer).

Be careful with hard panning on drums - it makes the kit sound too disjointed which is distracting. Realistically if I stand more than a few feet from a drum kit I am not going to hear hard-panning.