Pro Tools, N-Track Studio & Drumkit From #### 2

Best Way To Do My Drums With This Setup?

Ok, so I just received my MBox 2 Pro Tools setup. As some of you may remember from some of my previous posts, I also purchased Drumkit From #### 2 recently and N-Track Studio is the only decent, reasonably priced software I can find that supports VST instruments and works with DKFH. The sequencer that comes with Pro Tools LE or Reason Adapted 3.01 don’t even support VST instruments and on a side note, I forsee Pro Tools being nothing, but a resource draining, glitchy pain in the a$$ anyway. Very much like DKFH 2 has been so far… :angry:

Anyway, I need to get started on writing my drum parts for my new songs and I guess i’m going to have to go with N-Track Studio and DKFH for my drum parts. I’m just trying to figure out the best approach for getting the drum parts into Pro Tools LE when they’re finished and having the most flexibility with individual drum tracks, etc. I am pretty new to PC based studio recording, so please forgive me if my questions are retarded.

1) Would it be possible/feasible for me to just open up my DKFH kits in N-Track and literally save individual drums as wav files then use Pro Tools LE’s sequencer to arrange my drum patterns with the individual wav files on seperate tracks?

2) I’m assuming there is a way to save my completed drum patterns/songs as one midi file in N-Track that is somehow “pre-mapped” so each drum can be placed on seperate tracks when I open the midi file up in Pro Tools LE? Am I getting warmer?

My main concern is having complete control over individual drums when it comes time to mix/master. I don’t want to end up having only one or two overall drum tracks to mix as a whole.

Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
Aedryan