processor can't handle it

Problem with n-track

Hi,
I am a newbie at recording and am just now setting up my home studio. I am evaluating different software packages and n-track is the one I’m looking at right now.

I am trying to make a simple recording. I have imported a wave file in n-track and I am trying to add 1 vocal track. When I click the record button, the program starts playing the wave file and starts recording on the sound card input like it should, but the problem is that the processor peaks out in usage and after several minutes of n-track trying to fight the processor for use, I get an error message stating that n-track has detected that the processor can’t handle what I’m trying to do and that I should try deleting some of the tracks (ONLY TWO!) or increase my buffer in the preferences. I did try that (even though I can’t imagine why the default buffer won’t work with only 2 tracks), and it did not solve the problem.

I am using an AMD 1700+ (1.47MHz) with a 133MHz bus, I have 1G of PC133 RAM, an 80G SATA 150 HD (w/2M cache). I’m usuing a Sound Blaster Live! card configured at 16bit stereo for recording on n-track and my vocal input is directly from a microphone to the sound card mic input. My playback is going directly to headphones from the headphones output jack of the speakers.

I have also tried the same thing on my laptop which is a similar but lower end system and the same thing happens.

I tried uninstalling n-track and reinstalling it and when it came back up and asked me if I wanted to keep the configuration file it found, I said “NO”, but the problem still exists.

I have to believe that I have some setting incorrect, but I can’t figure out what. Especially since this is happening on two different computers.

Can anybody help?

TIA!
Reece

Hi Beagle:
IT sounds like you have a Beefy Enough machine there… That should work and do all the tracks you can think of and then some…