Record Midi issues

I have been using N-track for the last several years, recoding audio, and have been using piano roll for midi. I tried this week to record audio and midi, at the same, time from a Roland 500RD keyboard, without much success.
Asus p4p800E ? delux
Intel chip
P-4 2.9 Ghz
1 gig ram
Aardvark 2496 Soundcard
N-track v-4.1 build 1864
Using the Arks MME drivers = instant lockup as soon as I hit the record button
Using the Arks Asio drivers everything is great for about 15 seconds then it bogs down, drops out, records for another second or two and if I dont stop it will lock up.
It is probably an Ark driver issue (v-7.13). If it is I will have to get rid of it.
Question 1. See anything that would cause my problem?
Question 2. Anyone tried the RME fireface 800 with N-track?

Thanks,
Larrye

Not sure what you mean by recording both audio and midi Larrye.

Normally midi is used to instruct your keyboard (in this case) what to play and you record the sound that comes from your keyboard’s box of sounds, or indeed any out-board or on-board gear.

Smiffy,
I am trying to record a keyboard as both wave and midi, and vocals all at the same time.
Last night I was able to get it working a little but still not great.
Thanks,
Larrye

First, I would download and install the latest version on n-Track. Next you might explore raising the buffers (latency) settings in the Ark control panel. Keep in mind when using ASIO drivers the buffer setting in n-Track Preferences are ignored. The ASIO driver has control over that. You MUST change those with the drivers control panel applet.