Recordingf Vocals in Stereo

I have a lot of audio programs, including N-Track, but i haven’t gotten into recording into now.

First of all, i am a newbie, so this question might sound stupid, lol.

I am using M-Audio Fast Trak Usb, in between my computer and Microphone to record vocals, but my vocals are recorded on only one channel, i really would like them to be placed on both channels in stereo.

Any help would be really appreciated

Thanks in advance and God Bless.

OK, first, something’s wrong, and second, there’s a bit of terminology to clear up.

First with the terminology: stereo means something different in left and right sides. So, what you’re asking is for a mono vocal track to be panned to the center. Minor point, just to clarify.

Normally we record vocals in a single mono track, and when we play it back, by default it’s panned to the center, so we hear it equally in both ears. If this isn’t happening, either you adjusted the pan without realizing it, or something’s not set up quite right in your system – could be n-Track or could be soundcard or could be monitor setup.

So first, check the pan control on your recorded track. If that looks good, then tell us more about your setup:

How are you monitoring? That is, headphones or powered speakers directly connected to the soundcard? Or are you using a mixer?

Are you sure you’d hear normal stereo correctly? That is, if you play music through a program like Windows Media Player, can you hear it in both sides?

See where I’m going here? Try to locate the point where you’re losing one side. Once we narrow that down I bet we can set things right.

Cheers

Eyup!

Welcome to the forum!

A microphone, like a guitar, is not a stereo instrument, it has only one output, not two.
However, when you have recorded the sound, you can pan it left or right in the stereo field, and you can add stereo effects (i.e. reverb, echo etc.)