Sending files over the internet

How do I trade files w/my brother?

I’m a drummer and my brother plays guitar…he lives 300 miles away and we want to trade files back and forth. What’s the best way?

Well, you could go the Bit Torrent route and use it as it was initially intended. Bit Torrent has gotten a bad reputation as folks use it to pirate a lot of stuff, but alas, it can be used for the powers of good as well. Essentially, you use it to distrbute files to people. You share your file, send a “torrent” file to the person you want to be able to get the file (aka, e-mail the file to your brother) which has the information for his computer to find yours, and he loads that file and downloads away. The other option is getting hosted FTP or web space somewhere. Bit Torrent is free. BitTorrent

Bit torrent won’t help much for sending files from one person to another. Bit torrent’s idea is that everyone who has the file feeds it to everyone who wants it, in a one to one situation that isn’t going to help.

How to transfer depends on your internet connections. If you have hi-speed and you’r going to send large WAV files then you need an email service such as gmail that can handle large file, or a web storage location you can upload to.

One thing I did was open a yahoo account to share with some friends, then we used yahoo briefcase to upload and trade files. Either way you have to upload and download them.

You can always send a CD, or other kind of memory card.

There are probably other ideas I’m missing but bit torrent will be a pain to use if your sending things one to one

Why won’t BitTorrent work? So long as you send the .torrent file over to the recipient, it should go fine. By only letting his brother have the Torrent and no one else, it should remain fairly secure. He won’t get the distribution of bandwidth that BitTorrent was built for, but one to one should work just as well as any other torrent setup.