show your studio

pictures or descriptions of your studio

I’m still somewhat new to home recording. I like to hear or see what others are doing. I would enjoy reading about what others are using to record and what kind of space you have prepared to do it. If possible show some pictures.

I just refinished my basement guest bedroom into a studio. I installed carpet an accoustic tile ceiling and sections of studio wedge foam. I had a new pentium 4 based computor built and installed a Delta 1010lt sound card. I bought an Epson photo printer that will print directly onto printable CDs. I record using N-track 4.04 and use Audacity for editing. I have a version of Reason that came with my M-aidio stuff. I have 4 mics so far 2 sm58’s a peavy and a real cheap nady. I record guitar or bass from podxt or my digitek direct. I have a Berringer 24 track 4 buss mixer. I have a Berringer headphone amp and use an old sterio for monitors. I won’t go into the various instruments I have because I’m a bit of a collector.
I’m still pretty new at this and I don’t think my mixdowns sound as goood as some of the things I’ve heard on this forum but I’m learning.
I even am doing a couple of recording projects for a couple of musician freinds. I’ll try to put up some pictures sometime if I can borrow a digital camera somewhere.

That’s me slumped in the chair…

There is a big carpet hanging on the wall behind my desk, and the monitors are about a foot away from the wall. They’re covered with white towels in the picture… Ghetto-fied dust covers. :D

My wife would probably love that red and white curtain, John!

There’s a sort of runtrough of my home studio at http://www.yrttimaa.net/studio.html

The main picture needs an update, though… the speakers are back in upright position.

Below is a link to pictures of several of my studios through the years. Note carefully, though, that NONE of these pictures shows a good monitoring setup for mixing!