Some advice needed for total beginner

No really, I dont have a clue

Hi

I am just starting with ntrack and am not too hot on computers in general. So the first thing I need is some sort of set up so I can start recording, then Ill worry about all the techniques and pro equipment Ill need. I have an Soundblaster Audigy Advanced card, a couple of mics, ntrack 4.1 build, and from what I gather I need a preamp. I can get a cheap Behringer ADA8000, but I dont know if that will be useful (I dont even really know what all that stuff does). Im going to be recording live instruments almost exclusively. So:

Do I need a new soundcard?
Should I take the ADA8000?
Will I be able to start recording at that point?

Sorry if this has all been explained before, I went through the topics but Im still fuzzy.

Thanks!

Go to HERE for good tips on getting started.

<!–QuoteBegin>

Do I need a new soundcard?

Depends. What cha’ got now? ???

<!–QuoteBegin>
Should I take the ADA8000?

If your soundcard has ADAT lightpipe input capability the ADA8000 will give eight decent (not great) mic preamps over ADAT lightpipe.

<!–QuoteBegin>
Will I be able to start recording at that point?

Well, you’ll need mics, somebody or something to record… but yeah, you’ll probably have the necessities to get a signal in your PC. Don’t forget cables… lots and lots of cables… :D

D

<!–QuoteBegin>

Topic: Some advice needed for total beginner, No really, I dont have a clue

Just, don’t get involved, at all. :(

It takes up all your spare time, and it eats into your drinking time.

It consumes money like you’d never believe! OK, you start off with a PC and a few freebies, but before you know it, you’re re-mortgaging your house to buy a new mike plus pre-amp.

Your partner wanders about muttering “PC widow” and “If I hear that damm track one more time, someone is gonna die!”.