Song for Review

All:

Please take a listen, and feel free to comment.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=704632

I’d like to hear honest observations from every vector, and I’m especially curious to hear your impressions on the drums - as this has been a significant limiting feature for so much of my time on this forum.

I absolutely despise my vocals, but they’re are much improved from previous attempts (I’ve got the tapes to prove it), and I’ve never claimed to be a singer.

Always seeking vocal collaborators btw…

All the best,
Iplan

Well, the guitar is pretty hideously out of tune - is that intended? It actually has a sort of garage appeal. I’m not very good at vox recording, others here are much better, but try backing off the mic a bit (is it a 57 clone?), rolling off a bunch of low end on the vox and compressing it pretty heavily.

Hey - Thanks for the feedback. It’s exactly what I need to get better - an honest assessment from someone with a critical ear, and suggestions to improve.

I do appreciate it.

It’s funny: my other passions have always come easily to me. I loved doing them, and I was naturally gifted at them as well. Everything was so easy. Music is just the opposite for me. I have to fight for everything musically. In many ways, I appreciate what I can do more, because I’ve had to work so hard at it (not that I’m accomplished in any way - just that I know where I was when I started).

Just from reading your posts, and listening to your songs, I know that you guys are light years ahead of me (as muscians, and with the studio), and may even have difficulty listening to something I consider a personal masterpiece, but I’m a motivated and teachable student, so I value your input. I also don’t get my feelings hurt. I just want to be the best me I can be. Any help you can provide to get me a little further down the path is sooooo welcome.

TomS by the numbers on your points:
1. Guitars out of tune: