Starting Out

Hi all, im new here an to n-track but looks like a great community here an i need some advice on some things as im totally new to recording on a computer an im not sure how it all works, i have had a look through the forum but haven’t found the exact answers an have read the n-track guide pdf.

For starters what i have to work with is creative audigy2 24 bit sound card. with a pentium 4ghz, 256mb ram, 200gb hd an a 40gb hd. A labtec 5 piece surround sound speakers set.
An for my guitar gear i have a choice between my marshall avt 150 combo amp or a behringer gmx212 combo 24bit stereo guitar amp an also a boss me-50 effects board. (not all this info may be relevant but trying to give ya an idea of what im working with)

So im wondering with this gear in mind should i be recording by directly connecting my amp into my sound cards line out or am i best off buying a mic an preamp? An if so could you recomend a brand as i have no idea about preamps or mic’s.

An as for the music im looking at recording mainly heavy metal style, lots of distortion an also some clean guitar but no acoustic at this stage.

Thanks for any help.

I don’t know muck about the audigy card. So linking wise I’m not sure.

There are some incredible amplifier modelers out there, Nomad Factory Rock Amp Legends is very very very good and would give you more versatility than your current selection of amps. It’s a Vst pluggin. Just need nice neautral monitors and you will get a very good representation of sounds of various amps. Waves has an amp modeller too forget the name of it (models three different amps). Several of the software multi effects units like Guitar Rig 2, ans Waves GTR are good also.

Don’t know much about the audigy, does it have enough headroom for you to record you guitar direct? If so I’d get an amp modelling pluggin and record direct through your soundcard.

You mentioned (i think) a multi-effects unit you have. Couldn’t you use this as an interface?