Strategies for sending/receiving files?

configuring files; mixdowns

Hello all. I'm new to this forum, and appreciate the opportunity to get instruction from those far more knowledgeable that I am. Thanks for the welcome, Administrator. (And thanks also for the birthday wishes, although I should mention that I went back and amended my profile. In fact, I was not actually born last week.)

Two musician friends and I want to collaborate on recordings, but we all live in different locales. We decided to attempt a “record-something-and-pass-it-along” scenario, - code-named “The AE Project” - and, after some research and discussion, n-Track was selected as the vehicle for this.
While we haven't made it to this point yet, I'm studying and trying to consider all options for the best, most practical or most user-friendly strategy for configuring files, types of files, and the best way to send/receive them. The success or failure of the project hinges on this aspect. I'm trolling for any thoughts or suggestions, and would be especially interested to hear from others with experience doing something similar.

FILE TYPES: OK, I understand the .sng file contains only the structure of the song. The audio data is kept separate in the .wav files. The packed song file (.sgw) saves all song data in one big file, and the User's Guide points to this file type as being “useful for transferring songs by email…” I imagine that some .sgw files could get pretty large. Are these sent as simple email attachments?