Thinking about making the USB Plunge

Anyone know the TonePort UX1

Okay, I picked up a laptop and it got me thinking mobile. I went to the local musician shop and the guy there was all ga-ga over Line 6 products - specifically the Toneport (I’m thinking UX1 - 'cause I’m not concerned about live multitracking at this point.)

Does anyone here have any experience with Line 6 in general or the UX1 in particular?

I have experience with some other Line6 products. I’ve been using a Pod Pro for over 6 years without a single problem. I’ve been taking a SpiderII amp to student’s houses for lessons for a year, no trouble. I also know two toneport owners who are very happy with them.

have you seen the keyboard version

http://line6.com/toneport/kb37.html

looks really neat and covers all bases -

Dr J

Quote (DR Jackrabbit @ Jan. 24 2007,15:27)
have you seen the keyboard version

http://line6.com/toneport/kb37.html

looks really neat and covers all bases -

Dr J

That link didn't work for some reason the first few times I tried it but it appears to be working now. Thanks, the keyboard version does seem spectacular - I think it's way more product than I need, though.

Actually, the UX-1 may even be more than I need. Really I guess I'm just looking for a rock-solid USB2 interface to record off my mixer into the laptop. All of the modelling and effects that come with Toneport are 'nice-to-haves' not 'need-to-haves'.

Anyone know of a basic, solid USB2 interface that allows either XLR or 1/4" input? It doesn't really need to have VU meters or anything since n-Track provides that on the software end.

<!–QuoteBegin>

Anyone know of a basic, solid USB2 interface that allows either XLR or 1/4" input? It doesn’t really need to have VU meters or anything since n-Track provides that on the software end.