Tips on recording bass?

I was wondering if anyone could share any tips/techniques they’ve used to get a good, punchy bass sound. I’m an utter novice at this…what I’ve tried so far is running a Low Z cable from the bass head’s ‘Direct Out’ jack into my PA, then PA line in to my soundcard (Delta 10/10). I’ve had great success recording guitar direct line from the amp to the soundcard, but I’m finding that the bass is coming in extremely EQ’d to the low end and kind of ‘flabby’ and lacking any attack. I have a rack mount EQ unit that I’ve never used…is that an option (i.e. EQ the signal before it reaches the soundcard)? Or am I off base trying to record the bass direct in? Thanks!

ooops…just noticed the ‘Tips’ sub-forum…sorry! I’ll go check there.

Bass is the one thing I have no problem plugging in direct turning it all the way up and hitting record. My bass has enough frequencies to shape any way I want in the mix post recording. It seems everytime I record it eq’d or compressed I end up regretting it in the final mix, and a couple of trusted friends have told me to flat out ‘quit that!’…

Eq and compression close to the final to better blend with added instruments is my advice. I usually do bass 3rd in line after drums and rhythm guitar, so the whole sound may evolve a lot as I stack. Having flexibility to ‘tweak’ one of the foundation instruments is a must for me.

I think you will find that compression will help get the “punch” you want in the bass (it may take some EQ too, but start with compression and if you EQ learn about the “overtones”) like all “art” it is not a set thing. You will find some good articals if you just do an Internet Search. My beginning suggestion would be, don’t rush to buy a plug-in to fix things. The more I do with recordings the fewer plug-ins I try to use and I have a bunch that I will never go back to.

Notch @ 100hz from -6 to -10 db, pump up the eq around 1000hz from +6 to +8 for a punchy non boomy sound.