Traps E400 drum kit

A story, a mini review and a plug

I share this incase it helps…

As some of you may remember I’ve been trying to move forward from the MIDI/Fruity drum tracks I’ve been using for many years. A few months back I tried recording my son’s acoustic drum kit with pretty average results really. Add the hassle of setting up the gear at the other end of the house, waiting for everyone to go out, and trying not to annoy the neighbours I pretty much gave up on the idea.

I then toyed with a Yamaha DD55 that I got on Ebay. It went back onto Ebay after a few months.

I then looked closely at the new entry-level Ion electronic kits. I found one “ok” review and one poor review. I tried a kit in a local shop and decided it wasn’t worth the money.

So I decided to go for a “proper” e-kit. All my old junk and unused toys went on ebay and in a matter of months I had nearly enough for a second hand. (Ebay is wonderful for raising money for new toys!). I had my eyes on a Yamaha Dtxpress II but they were a little out of my price range and I’d run out of toys to sell on Ebay.

I then stumbled across the Traps E400. Not only are these made by a company just down the road, they are cheaper than the Yamaha, and come with mesh heads. Anyway, a week or two later and a quick go on one in a local shop clinched the deal.

I got an excellent (and I mean excellent) deal from Absolute Music Solutions who are also just down the road from me. I also got excellent service, hence the little plug.