Trouble overdubbing

Already recorded tracks playback bad

I’m a newbie and I’m sure I’m doing everything wrong but I have been able to record a bunch of stuff successfully, add effects, mixdown etc.

Here’s my problem: I recorded a guitar track. Now I want to add vocals but I want to hear the guitar in headphones while I record the vocals.

The first time I tried this it more or less worked. I could hear the guitar clearly and I could hear my vocals and it all got recorded. Two problems though. First, the vocal track wasn’t synched properly with the guitar track. Second, and the worst problem, ever since that one time when it worked now the playback of the already recorded guitar track comes through completely distorted. I’ve tried changing every setting I can think of but nothing helps.

Any ideas?

Just to be clear: what I mean is that I have a guitar track recorded already. I hit record to lay down a vocal track. Then I put on the headphones and I can hear the already recorded guitar track playing back through the headphones but it is completely distorted. There is nothing wrong with the headphones.

Ok, where do we start? These problems could be caused by a number of things but don’t despair 'cos there should be some easy fixes.

First thing though, what is your system setup? In particular what is your soundcard and what is your signal chain (ie what plugs into what plugs into what)? Armed with that info help will be much more easily obtained.

Let’s have a go on the “distortion” on the guitar. (Presumably this is unwanted distortion). First up, you must make sure that no part of the input chain is clipping as you record… eg mixer, amp, soundcard. The soundcard is an easy one to spot 'cos you’ll probably see N-track’s Recording meter bouncing into the red. The others are more tricky to spot especially without knowing the signal chain.