Upgrading to 24 Bit?

Advice on buying a new soundcard

Hi everyone,

I’ve been using N-Track for several years now, but this is my first time posting to the board. I’m not in a band nor am I a professional but I have fun always looking for ways to get the best possible recordings out of my gear.

Until now I’ve just been recording with a Soundblaster 16 PCI using a line 6 pod for the guitars and bass and a zoom drum machine, and the sound seems fine. This week, however, I’m getting a new computer and since my SB16 finally quit on me I was considering buying a Soundblaster Audigy 2 Value for the new system.

If anyone has experience with this particular card or even just experience going from 16 bit 44.1khz to 24 bit 96khz I was wondering how noticeable the overall jump in quality was. Especially recording rock and roll that isn’t too demanding as far as dynamic range and noise floor, etc. are concerned, does it seem worth the little extra cash to buy the card and upgrade to N-Track 24?

Thanks in advance. I appreciate any advice anyone might have.

P.S. I’m not concerned about multiple inputs since I just record one track at a time.

The amount of audible difference between 16 and 24 bits will largely depend on your monitors and your ears, though not necessarily in that order.

The biggest difference for you, I’m guessing, will be bumping into the physical limits of your computer since 24 bit files are so much larger than 16 bit files. You’ll start running out of room fairly quickly unless you’ve got enough horsepower under your hood.

For affordable soundcards, it’s hard to beat M-Audio’s AP 2496 or EMU’s 0404. Personally, I’d lean towards the 0404 but both can be had for a bit less than $100 USD.

Best regards,

Tio Ed
Austin, Texas
Land O’ 10,000 Guitarists