usb microphone w/ a/d converter

i came across this microphone while browsing on one of the online vendors: http://www.samsontech.com/product…andID=2

does anyone have any experience with this mic?.. i’ve never owned any samson equipment, and haven’t heard good/bad things… but this mic claims to incorporate a 16/48K A/D converter… couple that with the usb, and at $79, it could make a great mic for just getting down ideas… i also have many friends who want to try recording, but are reluctant due to them hearing me enumerate the needed equipment… i’m wondering if this would make it far easier for a complete beginner to get involved…

manual: http://www.samsontech.com/products/relatedDocs/C01U_ownman_v1_1.pdf

thanks,
isaac

It would be handy for a portable “music notepad”, or for beginners.

But I’d recommend a different path for beginners, to reduce overall cost. At the low price for that mike, it’s hard to belive it’s good at three different tasks: mike, mike preamp, converter.

My recommendation would be to spend $40 on a little Behringer mixer, and an SM58 or clone (decent clones are available for under $40), and use the computer’s built-in soundcard’s line inputs. This way, you have two pieces of kit that you’ll probably continue to use even if you end up getting a high quality soundcard and a quivver of mikes. And a little mixer is often handy to have, even if you get a soundcard with better mike preamps built in. Plus it’s nice to have more than one mike preamp – each one sounds a bit different, and when recording lots of tracks it’s best to not use the same preamp on them all. (The annoying tendencies of a preamp tend to add up.)