v4.02 upgrade stutters during playback

Automated volume/pan overloading system!

I recently upgraded to v4.02 from v2.0. (Skipping v3.) I have been using nTrack for ~7 years and know it fairly well. Since upgrading to v4 I can’t even playback a simple 5 track song. I’m not using effects; all I am using is automated volume/pan. I’ve set the buffers to MAX and disabled all the VUs. After 2 seconds of playback it begins to stutter. (Severely.) If I disable “Allow automated volume/pan for wave tracks” it works fine; even at “Low buffering”. (I don’t know if it would act the same with effects because I haven’t been able to get that far yet.)

I’m using a 1.8Ghz Dell Vectra with 768MB RAM running Windows 2000. (using ntfs) I have a Seagate 7200rpm IDE ATA/100 w/2MB buffer. I know it’s not my machine 'cause with v2.0 I’ve run 10 tracks, heavily loaded with automation and effects using light buffering. I’ve been through every possible configuration option in v4 with no change except for “Automated volume/pan”.

The ONLY thing I’m unsure of is whether or not nTrack is backwards compatible. (I’m assuming it would be!) I have both installed on my system and can go back to v2 and play the exact same “sng” effortlessly.

I have been a big fan of nTrack for the past 7 years, but my opinion is quickly changing. Can anybody help me?!?!

Also, how do I forward this issue to Flavio?

-steale

Hello! Anybody??? Could use some help here!!!

Other than drivers and buffer settings. I can’t see why you would be having such issues.
Have you tried to import each wave file to a new song, instead of opening the original .sng file?
Do you have DMA enabled on your hard drive?
You can use the Feedback Form to detail your issues to Flavio.

I’m trying that now… and I’m pretty sure that will work. Though it won’t do me much good cause I still need the Volume and Pan envelopes and don’t want to re-create them from scratch.