Vocals

Hey Fellas,
Iv learnt alot from this forum already, but i have a question.
how can i keep all vocals the same level, e.g when i say somthing quitely how can i keep it at the same level as somthing i said louder in the same record take…

any awnsers would be great, thanks for your time
Ricci.

hi
I’m not an expert but maybe the function “normalize” can do what you ask… but I’m not sure.
:slight_smile:

Either go through a compressor on the way in, or use one on the later track. Failing that, ride the fader on the way in.

<!–QuoteBegin>

Failing that, ride the fader on the way in.

yowch… i’d imagine that would work… but… how?

if you aren’t already using a compressor, i would take this as an opportunity to learn about them. you get the fasoft compressor plugin for free with n-track. once you learn how to use it correctly (i won’t lie, it does take a bit of reading, practice, and experimentation), it will help by evening out the level in the parts where the vocal track gets louder.

“normalize” is only going to bring up the level of the entire track. the compressor will actually even out the dynamics of the vocals which i think is what you want.

do some searching on the world wide 'net about how to use a compressor. there are a few people around here who know the fasoft compressor well and can explain it better if you’re having a hard time.

When you have really extreme differences, the compressor is not the way to go - parts will sound squashed (the loud parts) and parts will sound normal (thw whispered parts). Use the volume automation feature, to get the quieter and louder parts to about the same place. Then you might want to use compression lightly to even things out. :)

Right, what Dimmer said.

For an intro, see my article Compressor Basics.

Tom is right too. It depends on the reason and nature of the volume variations.