Volume In Version 5

New Song is not loud enough

Hi, seems since I downloaded version 5 I’m having issues with volume not being loud enough. I thought maybe I wasn’t compressing things enough but then I found that the signal is indeed strong enough and I can compress it into clipping and the volume is still nowhere near what I used to have in version 4 (but I’ve also changed computers) So…I check the volume in the controls for the soundcard and made sure that the mixer had everything turned up proper and it does. I’m using classic compressor but that’s what I’ve been using for a couple years.
For examples
www.mcallister-productions.com
listen to “Andorid Men” compared to my new recording I’m working on "Over You"
I just can’t get the volume up in “Over You” all of the recorded tracks seem to have strong signal but none are too high but man, I’ve got the volume on the mains only 1/4 up and already clipping out. :frowning:

Using new Soundblaster Audigy platinum
Anyone else using this card? Anyone else have volume issues with the new version 5? Other ideas?

Here is an image you can see the level on the main and how far I have it turned down (-18.3)

What does the mix look like in a wave editor?

Quote (XonXoff @ Oct. 05 2006,02:55)
What does the mix look like in a wave editor?

:-(, any ideas? Here is the final mix down .wav file:

Well I think the issue is evident from the screenshot. For starters you appear to have some headroom there, so at least normalising the file would get you some more volume straight away.

Next you need to look at some compression to tame a few of those peaks so you can turn it up a bit more.

You seem to know about compression, but are you familiar with how it can help increase the “loudness” of your track? The following article is an interesting insight: http://www.cdmasteringservices.com/dynamicdeath.htm