Weird noise

N-Tracks creating weird noise?

I’ve been recording using a external mixing board (analog Yamaha 16 track) into a Delta 44, into N-Tracks. I don’t know why this is happening but I get some weird distortion that is added to most tracks. It’s almost like a lower frequency (150-1000hz) distortion that is kind of vocal like. The actual sound waves reflect this distortion and it does copy over if I copy the tracks down. My system is a 2.8 GHZ process with 1.5 Gig of ram.

I do have the outputs of the Delta 44 hooked up to the same mixer as the inputs but everything is shut off during recording. I am using the aux outs of the board to record the channels. Could there be some interference by routing it through the same board?

Has anyone come across this type of distortion before? Do I need to clarify?.. maybe post an actual clip of it?

I really appreciate any help you can provide. I am a relative newbie and have tried several different solutions to this problem but to no avail.

Definitly post a clip. Sounds like some kind of modulation.

http://www.unionmadeband.com/weirdnoise_mixdown01.wav

Please excuse the brief foul language. I was recording a punk song.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated. A N-Tracks packed song file (63 MB) is also located below.

http://www.unionmadeband.com/weirdnoise.sgw

I’m no expert on this stuff.

I downloaded the packed song looked at the vumeters and each wave seperately. It is noticeable in two tracks especially, and both those tracks the volume is quite high. I’m wondering if it is distortion from clipping. Bass track and Collins?? guitar track.

Just a guess.

<!–QuoteBegin>

I do have the outputs of the Delta 44 hooked up to the same mixer as the inputs but everything is shut off during recording.