Windows 98SE and nTrack V4

Resources and CPU usage?

I am a user of PowerTracks Pro Audio and the newest release uses too many resources in Windows 98. nTrack has so many more audio recording features that I am considering dropping PTPA and going to nTrack. But I don’t know if I will find a similar resource problem with nTrack.

I am running a PIII 800mHz with 256MB RAM and Windows 98SE, well within the published system requirements for nTrack. What has been the experience of other users of nTrack using Windows 98, particularly nTrack V4?

It sufficient for many audio tracks and a few (depending) fx or softsynths.
I’ve used N on a system older than that and it works fine if you do overdubbing.
If you’re a MIDI user however, N is not the best option. But for audio, it’s very good.

Not familiar with v4, but 3.3, and 2.3 even moreso, will run pretty good in that configuration. I didn’t find 2.3 overly stable once mixing started (getting tracks down was fine, not so good after various plugs and evolutions were added), but trackcount was fine (24+ at 16/44.1)

I have to so say that I use midi a lot and have found n-track very easy to use both in terms of creating and editing midi tracks and running them through vst-i’s alongside audio tracks.

I have heard negative comments re. n-track and midi before but my experience is good; maybe they’re historical problems relating to older versions, Flavio has an excellent record of incorporating useful changes into the program so don’t write it off.

Mike F