Any want to help with the mixing?

Original song needs mixing

I have a rock song that I wrote. All of the parts are recorded. I have attempted mixing the song but I am really new to the engineering aspect of recording. If anyone is willing to get it a try, I can send you the packed song file. In return, I would be willing to help you out on vocals or any instrumentation you may need in your song. I figure this would be a good opportunity for me to learn.

Thanks,

SaxAppeal

If you are interested, here is the song in mp3 format (3.3Mbytes). I did the best mixing I could but I am sure it can be done better. ???

Regards,

SaxAppeal

http://home.earthlink.net/~noharmdoneband/ToOldToRock.mp3

Rethink your panning and you’re halfway there :)

Can you be a bit more specific? I panned the rhythm guitar to one side (about 75%) and the lead guitar to the other (about 75%) trying to keep them from muddying up each other.

Maybe that was the wrong approach.

SaxAppeal

The file I downloaded has most of the low frequency stuff panned right and the highs on the left. Gives a weird balance, IMO.
I’d start with moving the lows into center stage and spread out the drums a bit wider but anchored center with kick & snare.

I agree that the panning could be better. I think the weak link in the song is the sound quality of the drums. They sound mono & dull. Perhaps using a wave editor you can bring out some presence in them. I’d be willing to give it a shot. How large is the song file?

Bear

By saving it as a packed file, I have 10 tracks compressed down to 6.3 Mbytes.

I mostly want to do this as a learning exercise. I am hopeing to learn better how to mix the songs.

Thanks,

Keith

Unless you are going for some unusual effect, panning should be done to “place” the instruments on a stage. Close you eyes and imagine where the person playing the guitar might be… Where is the back-up singer?.. What happens when the drummer does a roll across all the toms in his kit?.. etc…