Audigy 2 + ASIO: distortion

hey all,

I’m having some problems with my Auidigy 2 ZX PCMCIA sound card with Ntrack4.0 and ASIO.

I bought the card to be able to record on the fly @ 24khz and use the ASIO drivers to obtain a [to the ear] nearly latency free LIVE setup.

My problem is, when I use the LIVE settings the sound is incredibly distorted and poppy unless I set the latency to 50 or higher in the ASIO control panel.

I have all the latest drivers, plenty of CPU and RAM at my disposal, and everything else works fine except i can’t get the LIVE latency small enough for it to be at all practical.

I tried out all of the other device options, they’re too laggy or don’t utilize the 24khz, and I’ve done all the general n-track maintenance such as reinstall, etc.

any suggestions?

does the PCMCIA bus run at a different speed than PCI? It doesnt seem like anyone has problems with 2ms ASIO latency using a PCI Audigy 2

Hi, I’m no expert at this stuff, I have a audigy platinum pro going into xp. I’ve found it’s hard work to get asio going properly, in fact n-tracks says it has issues loading the asio
driver or something, it does load into live 4, and reason but…

My option which does work well is to use the wdm driver
which also allows for seemingly insignificant latency. IE as good as asio.

Another possible answer is to try the ASIO4ALL driver.
http://michael.tippach.bei.t-online.de/asio4all/

Another tip would be to increase your buffering from low to medium or something like that, generally play around and find out what you can get away with and then decide if it still ain’t good enough.

Maybe this helps or not I dunno.

regards

I have a platinum pro and have no problem at all with the creative ASIO drivers. (On WinME). Couple of things:

1) The Audigy ASIO drivers will allow multichannel recording (all 3 stereo analogue inputs simultaneously on the breakout if you want). The WDM driver is stereo only.