Beginner's Trouble

Weird probs - but prob simple

Howdy,

I just need a few basic questions answering please as they are preventing me from knockin out tracks. They are simple in nature, I bet. I can concentrate on harder subjects like conmpression later, right now I just need to be able to get going.

Let me tell you about me to fill you in.
I am a guitarist and I like to write and compose songs. When it comes to recording, I make all the other instruments in MIDI via a program called Guitar Pro 4.
I do bass, drums etc and export as MIDI. I then open up N Track, import the MIDI file and record my guitar over the top.

1) MIDI mixdown.
When I mix down MIDI tracks to a wav file, they disappear totally from N Track and cannot be located. Not even in the N Track folder.

When I want to mix down, I follow N Track’s on screen prompts to convert the MIDI to wav but as mentioned, the MIDI files disappear and there is no wav file.

So at the mo, what I am reduced to doing to create a wav or mp3 file, is opening up a second N Track session, connecting Headphone to Line In, playing the .sng in one session and recording it in the other!

As you can see, this is not the best way to go about it and I often have problems with the recording levels (which aren’t tracked in the Recording VU Meter).

2) MIDI editing.
a) So I have exported my MIDI. Often I have wanted to fade out, increase the volume at certain times or just simply cut off a slice.
I can do none of these by drawing the volume/pan lines on the MIDI tracks so how do I edit MIDI? I looked at piano roll and MIDI properties but to no avail. “Help” provided no clues either.

b) As a side issue, I tried the CAPS LOCk key to select all tracks to fade out but it didn’t work.

3) Synching Tracks.
a) Is there any way to “synch up” any of the tracks (MIDI or real guitar) with beats per minute or something? I was thinking of a grid or timeline that indicated each beat or 16th note.