Beginners MIDI keyboard Question

problems recording

Hi,
Before I wrote this topic I did try to find the answer in previous threads. Just so you know. I am completely new to MIDI, and have run into some troubles recording on N track 7

1. I have an iRig Keys connected with USB to my PC.
2. I have downloaded a lot of cool free VSTs and put the DLLs in the VST-plugin folder for ntrack. Martinic Combo-F for instance

3. I have followed the instuctions on how to obtain lower latencies, and I can play all I want. Everything works so far.

So, I first insert an instrument track choosing the VST-plugin.
Then i insert a blank MIDI track. in the properties box i coose the VST as output.
I then get several new tracks in my timeline, not sure why. I only want one.

Still Everything seems fine, I play and I hear it well.
Then I record, and after recording I can see that there is a pattern in the MIDI track and when I press play i hear what I just recorded. There is no wavefile, the instrument track has a straight line instead of a jagged. The only visible trace of something being recorded is the pattern in the MIDI channel.
The problem is I can’t mixdown it this way. I tried twice. The first time it was all mute, and the second time I heard a noise and some echo of the synthesizer.

Does anyone know a step-by step instruction for this? I’m sure I have forgotten some important detail somewhere.

/ Martin

My USB keyboard records both MIDI and Wav files at the same time; so, I may not be much help. When you get it to work. please let us know what worked.
try: on the main menu bar
Select Track > Midi > convert Midi tracks to Wave Track.
I found this is the manual:
“Mixing down works only on audio tracks, so if you have included a MIDI file, you’ll have to “record” it by selecting MIDI as the recording input in your soundcard mixer, so the program will be able to treat it as a WAV file.”

I don’t use MIDi so I may be wrong on this one