Bongos-good entry level set

I have played acoustic guitar for 400 years and am beginning to bore myself and probably others as well. Need a change!

Anyone want to suggest a decent set of bongos.

I will probably look around for an instructor or group class in the area to get the basics.

Thanks for any input,
Doug

Well, Doug, it seems that our large contingent of Bongo experts is out to lunch. Have you found a teacher? I’d ask him or her. :)

Tom,

I didn’t find a teacher today, But I can just sit here and hold my breath until I get an answer.

Y’know, there must be a discussion list for bongo players out there…

Hmmmm, bongos…

They have a good forum here - Drumdogs.com

Could try there?

Bongs? Should’nt this be in the drug testing thread? :p :p :p

TG

Jow,

I’ll check out Drumdogs-thanks.

gtr4him,

I thought I was pretty tricky using the Spanish word for Bong, but you were one step ahead of me.

Yo bongo
El bonga
Nosotros bongamos

I’ve been playing the Djembe for a few months - It’s a beautiful instrument.

Can’t say the sounds I’m making are very beautiful though… :laugh:

Doug,

If you wait until the AMS and Musicicans Friend holiday catalogs are out, you can buy some decent “starter” bongos for a steal. Friend of mine bought a pair a few years ago. While certainly not “Pro” level. They don’t sound bad at all.

TG

jhonan,

Are you learning the Djembe on your own or getting help from somewhere?

TG,

I will checkout the Musician’s Friend holiday catalog when it comes out

Well, the person I bought it off gave me a lesson. And my friend is having lessons, so we are practising some stuff together.