Computer Hard Drive  Setup Help

Proper Drive Layout For Recording

Hello All,

I am an absolute beginner/newbie to music recording.I don’t know squat.
I am assembling a new computer with 3 internal SATA hard drives being installed.

1- 160Gigbyte(Operating System) & 2-250gigbyte.
What do you folks recommend as a good logical layout for,

1. The Operating System, C: drive of course I assume.

2. N-Track and other software. Use a separate Drive other then C: drive? Should I partition the 160gig and use 80gig for OS & then 80gig for N-Track and other software install?

3. What directory structure and placement for the music recording itself?

4. Lastly do you place all the pluggins & add ons within the N-track directory layout(subdirectories).

I would like to set this up the correct way the first time.
Should I partition any of the drives I will install?

I am reading as much as I can. I have never ever recorded anything ever. This is supposed to be a hobby.
Thanks in advance for any help you can share.
Lou.

Hi Lou,

C: = Boot disk and OS, all your programs in one partition.

?: = Storage for sample libraries and such.

?: = Recording drive for streaming audio data. I use one folder per song. There may be a tiny gain by recording to the root directory and moving the files to a folder later after tracking. That’s the myth anyway… I just use folder per song.

Well… thats how I would do it and that’s how my DAW is setup. Except I only have two internal disks. Samples and stuff are on the OS drive too…

Plugins go in the n-Track plugin folder. I keep them all there and even point other programs there for plugins.

As far as partitioning goes… on a modern OS like XP I don’t think it’s really necessary except for maybe housekeeping or whatever…

D

Quote (Diogenes @ Mar. 17 2007,10:16)
Hi Lou,

C: = Boot disk and OS, all your programs in one partition.

?: = Storage for sample libraries and such.