Concert songs

Help me out here…

So, folks, as you know I work for a guitar school, and every year we put on a Showcase concert. This year we’ve booked the local theatre -which is big for us (in many senses of the word).

We have around 250 students (guitar, bass, drums - mostly guitar), ranging from total beginner to very advanced. Mostly young, but some older. Obviously with so many students (and wanting to keep the concert to around 2 hours), we tend to have a lot of students in each song.

Now, Christmas is a long way away, but, of course, an event like this needs planning. And the first step to that is getting the set list together. So will you help me? I need to find about 25 songs.

So is anyone able to suggest some songs? Generally we go for easier songs that our middle- aged audience will know, but they don’t have to be.

We also try to make sure the songs are family friendly - lyrically speaking.

Suggestions welcome : -)

Cheers!

Mark

What are the parameters, Mark, is it nailed down to carols or can you fire-up some distortion?

Mostly pop/rock Tony. Last year we did some Beatles, ZZ Top, Joan Jett, CCR, some Rockschool stuff, and some more modern poppy songs.

So, yes, distortion.

Cool. And it takes place around Christmas time and tradition is applicable?
Is modernising oldies normal? Some wonderful choral stuff to choose from.

Difficult one that Tony. We have a few students whose beliefs will not let them take part if we perform Christian Christmas songs (if that’s not tautology). But generic Christmas songs are OK.

“Long Live Rock” :D

How about some carmenelectra songs? :O

Hi Mark A;

You might consider some West Coast “Surf” Music… Sort of music out of the '60’s and '70’s…
OR would you consider '80’s stuff…
BUT now you’re getting into Disco Music…
Are the average age of the Parents gonna remember the '60’s-and-'70’s stuff ????
Am I that old ?
Holey Moley…

Bill…

Quote: (TomS @ Jun. 23 2011, 2:09 PM)

"Long Live Rock"
:D