Help with Files

Need advice re file management

I have been using n-track since 2000 and have always experienced difficulty managing my files. I want to create one file folder for each recording which includes all files (sng, wav., etc.).
Should I create folder prior to recording? How are other users managing their files ? I am currently using the most current version of n-track 4. Thanks

imo…as soon as you open ntrack, with no tracks or anything, click file, save as…, at this point you can create a folder with any name you want and everything you save (.sng, wav, etc)will go into that folder. if you do that for every song you will have a separate folder with all the relevent files for each song.

im still in 2.xx so your version could be different but most windows programs react the same way.

yeah, i know, version 2.xx?? :p well it works for me (except for MIDI which is a whole other thing). :D

c ya

Yup, that’s what I do, using version 3. I use the full song title as the folder name, and then an abbreviation or nickname for the song file name (so that wave file names don’t get so long).

Also, I find it handy to open a song file by running n-Track and opening the song using the “Open an existing song file” toolbar button (yellow folder without green wave). I don’t quite remember why this works better than double-clicking on a song file or drag-n-drop, but it does. (Probably because it leaves the file browser pointing to the song folder.)

I keep the song folders organized in folders, for example, for a given CD project, or by the name of the internet collaborator who’s producing the song (when I’m recording tracks for other people).