home recording with n-track

ive been reading your forums for quite a while and the sequencer tips…eq’ing…compressions etc have been INVALUABLE.

i wanted to share with you some home recordings made with n-track…im still learning but the toughest to get was getting the vocals to sit right and i think im almost there.

i wanted to at least share with you what i learned from you people so far.

http://myspace.com/windycitymusic

please feel free to drop a comment or two. i just started learning recently how to use that site.

thanks,
jon

I had a listen to a couple of your tunes. They are very good. IMO you should do some research on compression settings and EQ’ing. You could turn your tunes into real gems.

Quote (Guest @ Mar. 05 2006,23:06)

I had a listen to a couple of your tunes. They are very good. IMO you should do some more research on compression settings and EQ'ing. You could turn your tunes into real gems.

Not sure what song it is (singing with finger picked aucoustic) Kinda jazz chord progressions. I like that one but I find that there is too much middle in the guitar sound and it takes away from the the emotion of the palm slaps between your chord progressions. There's some high end hiss in the voice aswell.

thanks stu
they’re only home demos…im in the process of having them professionally recorded but i wanted a shot at learning how to make DECENT recordings on my own and i figured demos are a best opportunity to learn.
the song you’re referring to is the last one…“one more day”…its actually a strat clean direct as i dont have a steel acoustic…i cut too low and boosted the mids a little much on the vocals which is the hissing. i had to apply a gate on the vocals because of the floor noise…then applied some compression.
the guitar i didnt eq much mainly because i wanted some presence of it.

thank you for the compliment regarding the songs and the tips…im still learning but you guys’ expertise has been a learning ground for me.