How to reduce noise?

Hi
I downloaded N-Track Free to use for editing audio lectures mp3 files and It doing a great job for me in editing tracks but I need to reduce noise and improve lecture voice quality and since I have zero knowledge in audio software I dont know if this is doable using n-track or not :)
please advise…
Thanks in advance
Rimoun

What type of noise would you be talking about? Hiss, background noise like echo? Provide some more detail, system used ect ect…

PACO

Hi Paco
Hmm since i’m not an audio expert i can just predict that its background noise… and also the audio recorder was not close to the speaker’s mouth so his voice is not so clear…
is that helpful or should i upload the file for you to advise me what to do to improve it?
Thanks for your help :)

Ah… not sure what do you mean with system but anyway we have recorded the lecture using olympus wma recorder and i converted it to mp3
bitrate: 32000
audio channels 2

Rimoun

Without getting closer to the source this will prevent you from hearing the speaker especially if your in a class room or lecture hall. If you can’t get close you might want to place the mic between an open book facing the speaker. This could prevent other sounds like room echo from bouncing of the walls/ceilings back at the mic. The open book, if faced directly at the speaker might isolate his/her voice. Have you every seen those satellite looking clear like dishes at football games. They use those to isolate the audio on the field while blocking audio from the crowd behind and from the sides. Same principle here. Thats all I can think of.

PACO

Aha… that’s good information. I will try this trick next lecture :)
But for the already recorded one is there anyway to improve quality using ntrack or other software?
Regards
Rimoun