memory usage incrementation while playback

memory usage incrementation while playba

Hi,

I’m relatively new to n-track. Anyway, I upgraded from 5.0.1 to the actual 5.0.6.
I now recognize an unusual (hopefully) incrementation of the memory usage when I’m just playing one of my former recorded songs. In the task manager, the memory usage of the n-track process increases round about 100-200kbyte per second while playing! Well, my machine has 2Gig RAM, so it took some minutes, but than n-track tells me, that it is not able to play my song anylonger. Reloading the song helps.
Hmm, is this a normal behaviour?
Anybody out there, who recognized the same?
I’m quite sure, that in my former version I haven’t seen such a behaviour.

Thanks and regards.
mikel

Sounds like a memory leak. Flavio fixed some big ones that happened while editing a few builds. This may be something new. While buffers are allocated and filled while playing there shouldn’t be a constant rise in memory usage while playing after a few seconds.

Thanks phoo,
but that’s exactly, what happens. Continuesly increasing memory until the system says “Thats it!” :slight_smile: . Any idea, what I should do/test/adjust ?

Yep…file a bug report with Flavio. You shouldn’t have to do anything to workaround something like that. :)

Other than that, try resetting your preferences to the defaults (there’s a button in the preferences to do this) to start over once just in case there’s something funny happening there. Occasionally, the settings can go flewey and cause odd problems when upgrading. Then set them back to where you want them, remembering anything that was changed that might trigger the leak…if resetting the preference got rid of it.

Quote (mikelm @ Mar. 21 2007,12:03)
Hi,

I’m relatively new to n-track. Anyway, I upgraded from 5.0.1 to the actual 5.0.6.