n-track drums

new user

HI there, I’m a new user 1st of all, I have the demo version and I am trying very hard to figure out how to use this software.
I have also Abelton’s Lite 6 version.
I have all but given up trying to figure it out already.
I am new to recording on the computer, but not new to recording.
I started years ago on a Tascam 4 track, then moved to a zoom digital 8 track.
I want to move on to computer, but am beginning to think I am not able.
I have a M- audio fast track pro (I got my Live Lite free with it) and have had issues with it but now it seems to be working fine(after downloading the drivers numerous times)
I am impressed with the fact that this n-track software was able to recognize it right away.
Also, I was able to record my voice and guitar as a test right away as well.
It was very hot too, peaking easily…anyway, the problem at hand seems to be the drums.
I was able to copy a drum pattern (wave file) I had on my computer, sample I guess you call it.
However, I found the ntrack drums but I can not get the patterns to work on them.
I can get individual drum sounds to play via my computer keyboard but that’s it.
I have my midi keyboard hooked up to fast track pro…now, how is that supposed to work too?
can’t seem to figure that one out either.

I wanted to test that today as well.
I cant seem to get working either.
One more thing while I’m here, I can NOT get my view to show my play, record and stop buttons again, the master ones.
I lost them and can’t get them back.
?? anyone?
I worked and worked last night with the view and moving things around but nothing…
anyway, in case you need to know, I have dell laptop, 3.4 Ghz, 1.00 Ram, XP sp 2.

I am just wanting to record original songs using some prerecorded drumbeats, the drums on here sound great…my acoustic and electric guitars, piano, and voice parts…maybe some other keyboard parts, effects, you know, not that big of stuff.
I just need a simple, easy to use program…