n-Track versus Orion and Acid

Can anyone give me a perspective on where n-Track sits amongst other music software? I’m trying to eliminate having to learn too many packages. I have recently downloaded trial versions of n-Track, Orion Platinum and Acid Pro 5. Because I’m new to this, I have no idea which one to focus on.

Any feedback welcomed.

Phil

Since you are new you will have a perspective many of us won’t have - that being set in our ways. Whatever way we do things is how we want to keep doing them. We might give lower marks to on of those simply because it doesn’t do what we are used to.

I suggest you try all three equally. Attempt to do whatever it is that you are trying to accomplish and see which one gets you there fastest and easiest. While doing that the strengths of each will slowly become more obvious and you might end up wanting all three for different purposes.

I use n-Tracks for all recording, but it doesn’t do loops. For that I use Acid Music (much cheaper than Acid Pro). I’ve never used Orion.

n-Tracks is WAY easier to get going than any other multi-track recording software that I’ve ever used. It’s not even close in my opinion.

Don’t be too put off by the limitations of the trial versions. Those can be somewhat limiting, but you should be able to see if they work well enough to make a judgment.

<!–QuoteBegin>

n-Tracks is WAY easier to get going than any other multi-track recording software that I’ve ever used. It’s not even close in my opinion.

for me, this is very true… however, i have a couple of other names to throw in to confuse you even more:)… one is fruity loops for loop based editing… i’ve been using it for some time for drum sequencing, so you may want to take a look at it… a friend claims that cakewalk’s new kinetic is even better…