Newbie Questions

Equipment

Well, I’ve been messing around with N-track demo for a few months now, and my friend and I have decided to purchase it. I do have a few questions on equipment though. I’ve been using a logitech usb headset for recording with my onboard soundcard and I must say that the quality of sound isn’t all that great. So, I’m thinking about buying a good mic and soundcard. Right now, I’m looking at the Audio Technica MB4000C Condenser Microphone and a Soundblaster Live 24bit soundcard. I can get both for around $100 total which is in my price range. But I must admit that I really have no idea what the #### I’m doing. Will this mic connect to this soundcard with provided “lo z” cables? Do I need any other equipment to go with this? Or perhaps someone could suggest some other equipment within the pricerange of <$150… Thanks in advance.

hey dogg,most of the guys in here use a mic/preamp/mixer to run thier mic’s an guits an keyboards into thier puters,i have that sb live card an it gets good reviews by the guy who makes n track,so yer ok there,as far as the mic you said ya was lookin at goes,i would prolly look into a sm57 first,this is an all around good mic for just bout anything ,so ive heard them say,i have one too and i use it for all my stuff i record,if ya got an ol mixer around with a line out stick that into yer l;ine in on yer sound card,not mic,cause that mic thing is way noisey,an then plug in yer instruments into mixer,that way too if ya wanna record with a friend ya can both plug yer instruments in the mixer an set up levels for a even sound and record one or two instruments in a stereo track ,hope ive helped man…

A small mixer would very helpful, Behringer makes some very in-expensive mixers starting at $49 US, you can find them at www.musiciansfriend.com A mixer would let you also run any outboard effects and pre EQing if needed for less expensive mics n such.

Yaz