Noob question

Hi guys, n-Track was recommended by an online acquaintance to edit some simple acoustic guitar tracks I have recorded. I’m not a professional, but appreciate some of the professional quality recordings from other amateurs on the net. At any rate, my question is this: How does n-Track compare to Cubase? I have Cubase SX3, but wasn’t sure how it stacked up to n-Track. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks

Well, you are asking users here, so you might not get the most unbiased opinion. But…the workflow is different; because the various sequencing programs use different maths to do digital mixes there are very slight differernces in sound (although not-so-slight in some programs); n-Track’s greatest strength is in handling audio recording, but you can do pretty much the same things with each. Oh, and there’s the price difference. What’s V4 of Cubase, 800 bucks? :D

Unless you feel like you have to throw money away, get n-Track, espeically if you have done some recording on something like an old cassette 4-track - if you have, you will find yourself in familiar conceptual terrain. Plus all of the concepts you learn with any of these programs are pretty much portable to others, even if the specific implementation differs. One thing about n-Track that is not true of Cubase - you can almost be working with it right away without reading the manual - Cubase…well, you need to live with the manual for a while…

However, if you feel like throwing money away, PM me, I can use some. (Which is not to say that Cubase is not a fine product - I used a version of it for a while, and thought it really good, but really slow to load, and by that time I was used to the workflow in n-Track, so…)

Wait, you already have a recent version of Cubase…hmm…you don’t like it?