Presonus Firebox...anyone using yet?

Just Curious. I am hearing good things in press reviews and wanted to see if anyone here has tried it. Only thing I’m worried about is that it comes with Cubase LE and I don’t need that kind of temptation in my life. :laugh:

After doing lots of research on this item, and considering my needs, this is what I have finally decided to get. I ordered it Feb 12 so I haven’t received it yet. Sounds like a pretty solid piece of hardware. I know there have been complaints about the drivers but I think overall I have seen that on almost everything interface on the planet. As far a cubase is concerned, NAH!

I tried one, got (presumably) a faulty one, then poor customer service. Ditched it for M-audio 1814.

Caveat: I’m just a beginner at N, but

I got one a few weeks ago and it worked perfectly from boot-up, zero bugs.

I got it so i could take my laptop to my buddies house and record a full band. I did go to his house and recorded six miked drums and a bass track simultaneously, with one channel left over, and it sounded excellent. When i played it back over the PA, it sounded like we were playing live.

I play guitar/bass and sing. I’ve recorded two songs so far using the Presonus and i have nothing but praise for it.

Also, you can record the input from a sp/dif source at the same time giving you 10 possible tracks, pretty cool.

The two sp/dif tracks could be the output of a mix deck or a keyboard. I plan to use it for keyboards so that i can record bass, drums, guitar, keys and a scratch vocal at the same time.

:D --jb

JB thats good to hear…I am really looking forward to mine.
I hope mine works as well as yours. I don’t believe there are many good customer service dept’s these days.