Recording just one track with ASIO drivers

How to record just one mono track

Hi folks,
I’m nearing the end of recording my (I don’t know because I haven’t kept track - 15th? 20th?) album with n-track. I’ve been using it since 2000, and I love it! However, in more recent versions, I can’t find the switch that used to be there to turn on and off the automatic creation of new tracks if you don’t have a track armed for every currently selected input channel. Right now, when using the ASIO drivers for my Layla 3G, if I want to record just one mono track, I select just one of my inputs, but they come in pairs in the ASIO drivers, and then, when I arm the track I want to record with one of those channels, if I don’t arm another track with the other channel, a new track gets auto-created for me, which I then have to delete. Does anybody know how to prevent this from happening? I’m probably just not finding where the auto-create tracks setting is :) Thanks in advance!

The control is on the red recording light in the input tracks of the ASIO input tracks. Turn them all off except the two you need LnR then you can drill down to turn off the left or the right channel. I would also click the hammer and select record to two mono track incase if it messes up you can just delete the track you don’t need.

Thanks, but that is exactly what doesn’t work. Whenever I have any inputs turned on in the Select I/O channels that I don’t have used with one of the red recording lights, it makes a new track for me when I hit record. Like, say I had all 16 of my inputs set up as input channels, but I only had one selected with the red recording lights and all others were set to disabled, then I would get fifteen extra tracks that I’d have to delete :)