Replacing drums in Ntrack

It has to be easier…

I’ve recorded my drums to separate tracks and I want to replace a kick. I’ve never done this before although I’ve successfully created good drumtracks in Fruity Loops.

What I thought I’d do is to turn my kick track into midi info that I can then import into Fruity Loops, trigger a decent kick sample and then export this as a wave file back into Ntrack. There are other ways, like using midi to play a sample in real time, but that’s a jar of worms I havent opened yet.

I’ve just got hold of the KTdrumtrigger plugin. It looks simple enough. I dropped it on the kick channel, and then, um, then what? I tried creating a midi track and recording the kick channel to that and N ignored it and recorded two blank audio tracks underneath it.

If anyone has worked out a way of doing this then I’d love to hear. I havent used midi in ntrack before so I might be missing someting obvious. ( I didn’t play to a click track, so quantising is out ).

Cheers

Spooner.

Hi Spooner; I have had good results using SuperEel, a free plug-in that converts audio signals to midi files. It only works well with one instrument at a time, but is pretty good with kick tracks. If there is much noise on the track besides the kick, you might want to edit the track with a gate first, to keep the plug-in from getting confused…

Good luck!

'til next;
tony w

Hey thx tw!
I might use that for my bass guitar on some of my older tracks.

gluck spooner!
ndrummer could also make a kick track for you.

Quote: (spooner @ Aug. 17 2009, 7:27 AM)

I've just got hold of the KTdrumtrigger plugin. It looks simple enough. I dropped it on the kick channel, and then, um, then what? I tried creating a midi track and recording the kick channel to that and N ignored it and recorded two blank audio tracks underneath it.