Room microphone

Up until very recently, I have been recording individual guitars through a mixer and directly into my pc running n-tracks. Drums have been added using hacked about midi tracks. I am now in a (small and very badly rehearsed) band so would like to try and record rehearsals ‘complete’ as it were, ie not individually, to try and track down ‘band’ size issues rather than individual performances. Could anybody tell me what sort of mic I would need to capture the whole band please. The environment is a room at my home which is approx 15ft X 15ft so it is fairly cramped, but seems to work ok (I prefer to call it cosy !) I suppose I am looking for the next step up from a simple cassette (or mp3) recorder and I am not too bothered about very sophisticated quality. Budget is very limited, probably up to about £100 (is that about $150 ?) .

Any help would be very much appreciated

Well, I am no expert, but I’ve been using a Studio Projects B-3 into my little Tascam 788 recorder. I got the B-3 for about $150.00 (US), and it’s a 3-position switchable, Large Diaphragm Condenser: It records in Cardioid (uni-directional), Omni (from every direction, i.e., “Room sound”), and Figure-8 (Bi-directional).

When there’s a bunch of folks sitting around in a room pickin’, I stick the B-3 on a stand amidst everybody, in the most appropriate position I can work out, set the mic to “Omni”, and there it is. Depending on the room’s character, I can get a pretty good recording out of it. If I do a good job placing the mic, I pretty well hear everybody.

If you’re not hip to condenser mics, they need a phantom-power supply to work properly (or at all). I use a little mixer with phantom power to plug the mic into, then run out of the mixer into the recorder.