Snare and Compression

a sophmoric question

So, I’ve been n-tracking for two years now. Fairly regularly, at that. So, I’ve spent some time (at length actually) messing with the snare’s compression settings and here’s what I’ve observed:

I like the sound of the heavily compressed snare (at times) enough to want to explore it some. However, when I compress it (say 10:1), the output clips in the compressor and the mains clip as well. If I lower the output to the point where it doesn’t clip, I can no longer hear the snare (at least at a reasonable level) in the mix – it sounds whimpy and thin. I’ve messed with the attack a little, and the more ms I add to the attack, the more it clips – presumably because I"m letting the transients pass thru which would be the loudest part of the sound.

So, obviously, I’m doing something wrong. I don’t pretend to understand the finer points of compression, and maybe that’s the starting point. I’ve trusted N-track’s settings for the most part (on the drums anyway), and haven’t really had much need to diddle with it.

Oh, one other thing: All drums are sequenced and not played live, so I have no idea how they were originally recorded. I’m using Jamstix for what it’s worth – a really decent drummer, seeing that I’m not. It has it’s own compression, but that’s not really the point. I don’t use Jamstix compressor, and would really like to know how to use N’s compressor a little better. :)

Your turn.

Bill

(billthecat @ Jul. 19 2007,03:08)
I don't use Jamstix compressor, and would really like to know how to use N's compressor a little better. :)

Your turn.

Bill

This is a good starting point:
Jezar's How to use a compressor

I’ve got sort of a beginner’s primmer on compression here.

Hey guys:

First of all, many thanks for the replies. I really do appreciate this forum and the wealth of information that exists here.