Suggestions for a good PCI-express Sound Card

I Give Up (on Creative)

I’m going to try to be coherent here, but, I’ve reached one straw over the line. I’ve been using Creative Labs cards (not exclusively) for more than 20 years now and, while I’ve often had irritations with them, the price and capability have usually brought me back. That and their general backward and forward compatibility.

I was close to dumping them entirely when they abandoned support for the Audigy line in Vista. Instead I used it as an excuse to buy an X-Fi Platinum to replace the Audigy Platinum Ex. After all; there were hardware issues and I could still use the Audigy in the old XP machine.

Then I got to fight with drivers that wouldn’t do ASIO unless they were hacked and WDM drivers that couldn’t multi-task. Cool. So, I went with the ASIO hack and, it worked fine. Which proved that Creative had deliberately castrated its own drivers.

In the meantime I’ve used any number of other interfaces and, face it, USB just doesn’t cut it for overdubbing. At least not for me. Maybe I’m missing something, but the lag is terrible.

Now my X-Fi Platinum has decided it won’t output sound. No, the connection to the amp is fine. And, it shows sound as going out, but, since the latest ‘update’, there is no sound going out. Not from the line out. Not from the headphones. Nothing in hardware has changed. The VU meters still show sound being generated, but… there’s nothing there.

And, when I go to Creative, I discover that my formerly fairly state of the art X-Fi Platinum is now not even listed for drivers and the ‘product recognition’ program recognizes something new that I don’t have. And it appears that the newest drivers are set to only work with Windows 7, while, unlike many you, I’ve had no particular problems with Windows Vista and don’t feel like feeding Microsoft for the sake of being ‘bleeding edge’.

Phew.