Undoing normalize ...

Is it possible to undo normalize?

I want to undo normalizing of tracks in a song. The file has been closed since the normalizing was done, so I can’t just ctl-Z undo. Is it possible to undo normalizing can anyone tell me?

Normalization raises the sound level to a predetermined level that you set, with 0 being the maximum in digital. In theory it’s just a shortcut to raise the sound level to a predetermined volume across the whole sound spectrum… So, in theory, all you would need to do is lover the master fader to reach something like the original level. You did not say why you wanted to undo the normalization. If the normalization process caused other problems in the mix, lowering the volume might not work, I guess. You will just have to try adjusting the volume and see if it sound better to you.