Vocals in the mix

Hey everyone

Im not looking for specific settings but really advice on approaches here but…

What methods do you try to fit your vocals in the mix?

The vocals in a lot of my mixes seem like it “doesnt belong there”…like someone played a backing track and someone just sang into it…

I’m messing with the EQ and compression and reverb but with so many variables…its frustrating. Im even looking at if the backing instruments are too panned out and there is a huge gaping hole in the middle for the vocals…who knows

From a logistics point of view I need some direction.

TIA

pan the vocals on the center. on eq, use a spectrum analyzer (try voxengo span) then see what frequency does the voice peak. then cut the frequencies that does not peak try cutting the bass at around 100hz. on reverb… addinig it makes the voice far. this is what I do, well I’m still learning at this process (eq) but had great results. hope this helps…

peace…

Seems to me often enough the problem has to do with the other instruments. Make space for the vocal - this is a matter of arrangement as much as or more than a matter of EQ, IMHO. Think about what is competing with the vocals, and then think about what the song minimally needs, and then eliminate stuff, or at elast turn it down in the mix.

Also, home recordists like most of us here tend to use way too much reverb.

Well looks like I got it

Mic placement really truly deeply matters. :p

Frustrating but like every hurdle its a lesson to learn I suppose ???