Best general free reverb VST/DX

Advice from you experts required…

Hi,

I am new to n-track version 4. I previously used ver 3.2, and at that time I found freeverbToo to be a better general verb than the build-in n-track one. Is this still the case? or has the n-track one improved.

The reason I ask is that reverb included with version 4 seems pretty good to me with lots of sparkle for vocals, but it could be my ears are getting old :slight_smile:

Any thoughts?

Nick

Don’t know about the comparison (I’m still on Ntrack 3.3), but the reverb from http://www.kjaerhusaudio.com/classic-series.php is quite good. I find that I use the classic plugins the most for ease of use and sound quality

W.

What Wihan said…I use the classic series almost excusively although I have others (mda)…

cliff
:cool:

SIR Reverb is great. Grab some good impulse files from Noisevault.com and you are in convolution reverb heaven. For free.

D

Two additions to the list i like:
Ambience fully functional demo without time limits
and
AriesVerb you will have some fun with this one.

The kjaerhaus Classic series is good, but I’ll throw in a pitch for Glaceverb and Anwida Reverb Lite. Both of these are excellent and have many, many good presets and as well as many adjustable parameters.

But NOTHING beats SIR. At least not anywhere near the price. :)

I think that’s like asking, "What’s the best guitar?"

It really depends on your purpose and tastes.

I really like n-Track Reverb, and the ones listed above are great too. SIR is definitely worth looking into, but it can become a real time killer, searching for the holy grail impulse files.

Note that to get any stereo reverb to actually work in stereo as a plugin on a mono track, you have to remember to check “expand mono track to stereo”. If it’s on an aux or group or a track with a stereo wave file, this isn’t necessary. And learn to use the left & right controls on n-Track plugins to get the benefit (or pick “Ambience 2” for starters).

:cool: