Rate my Site

fuctionability,look,general

Hey guys,
Just got done buildin’ my new website.
Let me know what cha think or just vote.
My harshest critics usually help me the most. :;):

Jeremy’s Website

keep shinin’

jerm :cool:

Hi Jeremy,

I’m no expert but I’ve built a few websites and I know what I like.

First up, get some proper hosting. When I visit your site I’m presented with a huge pop-up advertising something or other. It then gets worse as I browse around. Unfortunately it doesn’t encourage me to stick around and look at your pages. Also consider that much of the advertising may not sit with your site content.

Hosting can be had for very little these days (I pay £20 a year). Or most ISPs offer a small amount of space.

Secondly, your site seems to be optimised for 1024x768. I run my monitor much higher than that and the formatting is all off. Also consider that there is a large population of folks still using 800x600 (http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp). At that resolution much scroll-barring is needed to see the content.

Finally, consider obfuscating your email address on the page. Otherwise the email address harvesters will find you in no time and you’ll be spammed.

Well done for having a go. Your content is sound and the principle correct so go for it.

HTH

Mark

Thanks Mark.

I didn’t think of letting my ISP host it.
But the thing with that is it adds alot of extra names to the URL.
Like wwww.verizon.com/user/jeremyprophet/index.html.

I wish I knew a way to direct people from jeremyprophet.741.com
To my ISp’s adresss. Tha way I could keep the small URL, but have a site without pop-ups.

As far as the format being off. I’m not real sure what that comment means.
I typed everything in HTML myself, since I don’t have any fancy web building progies.