Wife buys Addictive drums

1950s man forced into 21st century

Hi
the wife bought me Addictive drums for Christmas. She’s wonderful, I didn’t ask for it & I sure dont know what to do with it.
I’ve no experience with midi & am starting from scratch trying to create a midi drum track in n-track but I cant hear it on playback. I’ve used ntrack for years & thought I knew my way around it but I cant figure out what’s wrong. The track mixer shows it playing but the master mixer is dead. I feel really stupid. I’ve got version 4. I’d be grateful for any ideas.

jetboy

I just had the same problem with Addictive (demo) just now.
It was showing in the master VU (live enabled) but no output
from soundcard.
Re-booted (this is a laptop) changed to WDM drivers and it
started to work - but if I toggled LIVE on and off - it crashed
and generated a bug report.
Re=booted again and back to ASIO. unloaded all unneccessary processes
like anti-virus. getright, and some other stuff.
And it started working like a charm w/no problem when I toggled
the LIVE on/off.
So - I don’t really no what to tell you other than try setting
N’s defaults - select your ASIO driver, open a midi track, select LIVE,
and select effects and open Addictive VSTi and give it another try.

No I havent even started on Addictive Drums yet, I’m just trying the basics like writing a midi drum part with the n track tools.
Somebody told me when I click on each drum on the left of the piano roll window I should be able to hear them & that’s not working either.

jetboy

The only suggestion I can make is to check out the tutorial here

It is a little outdated but still explains the whole process of setting up a “midi” track.
I haven’t looked lately, but I’m sure there must be other tutorials out there somewhere that can help you along (YouTube).

I use both addictive drums and EZdrummer…but I have set up templates and use a different software than N.
Can’t live without them now that I know how to use them.

cliff